Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-27-2008, 03:23 PM
LawnSite Member

Liquid vs. Granular

Just looking for opinions. What is better liquid or granular and why? How many apps is recommended through the year? I am new to fertilization and right now I am doing a 4 step all liquid with good results, but I am always looking for better.
Old 03-27-2008, 03:43 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I do 2 liquid apps of post emergent herbicide. Merit and pre emerge are a granular combo. Apply a granular fert with my liquid herbicide apps as well. Liquid ferts have proven to be more expensive for me and you get all your essential micronutrients with your granulars. Cheaper to apply as well
Old 03-27-2008, 05:34 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

d

granular fert is better because of all the different slow release techologies.

as far as granular fert/post-emergent combos, everyone is telling me they dont work at all .. supposedly if applied to a wet lawn they work well, but i'm still waiting for someone on here that has experience applying granular fert w/ post-em to wet lawns to tell me if its a reasonable approach

certainly would not be for a large scale fert/spray operation because of timing the application when its wet ... but if it works well when wet, it would save money to apply combo granular on wet days as opposed to fert and spray seperately.

hopefully someone on here has applied fert/post granular to wet lawns can tell us if it works better.
Old 03-27-2008, 07:15 PM
LawnSite Fanatic