Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-29-2001, 08:45 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

employees putting me out of business

i started this business because i didnt want to be at the mercy of an employer anymore. well, it seems now i am at the mercy of my employees. i am basically a solo operator trying to grow so i can be full time, problem is i cant grow if i turn work away, so i dont turn it away. ive been thru many helpers in the last few years, no one seems to work out, they just dont show up, and when they dont, i lose money and get the customers mad cus i dont make it there. this time of year is especially tough, cus i cant handle the leaves alone, im getting my butt kicked over here! why cant a guy just show up when hes supposed to? this blows! thanx for listening
Old 11-29-2001, 09:04 AM

Lets face it if they were any good they would be running their on lawn biz. So easy to start your own lawn care biz. What type of person need to work for someone else?
Old 11-29-2001, 10:39 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Give them some sort of incentive. Incentive to work, incentive for growth. What are you paying right now? You have to make it worth while to them, or else they'll view it as a little extra beer money, and treat it as just that. Show them a real wage, let them know the potential for growth, (not just tell them, show them) and they'll see things as a little more of an inVESTment of their time. I know, I've been through it. These guys work great for 4 or 5 weeks, and next thing you know, they don't show up for a day or two,(throwing your schedule WAY out of whack) and then come back all fired up, rarin' to go. Others, will show up a day after payday, late, and not be worth a damn because they're all hung over. Here's what I did. Start paying them like on Monday or Tuesday. It's just not easy finding good brain surgeons for this work.