Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-09-2008, 08:56 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Dandelions and Broad leaf control.... Customer want a "weed and feed"???

One of my new customers wants to kill all of the existing dandelions and prevent new ones from coming back. Same goes for all his other broad leaf weeds. I suggested in mid feb. that he needed to aerate and apply a pre m. And he refused. Said that weeds weren't bad in his yard.... LoL. How far from right was he. So now he wants me to apply a weed and feed to take out the dandelions... I am new to the whole idea of fert pre and post m and all. But it is 70 percent rain friday, 60 percent saturday and he would like it to be applied before it rains. Which is fine for a granular weed and feed. But will it work.

Thank you,
Jonathan

P.S. i plan on getting a friend to do it for me who has the proper equip and experience.

"Making Thomasville and surrounding areas more beautiful one yard at a time!"
Old 04-09-2008, 09:12 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Um, nope.

On the weed and feed bags that I have used, they clearly state-Apply immediately AFTER a rain or early in the morning while there is still dew present. It will also state DO NOT WATER for 48 hours.

As far as the prevention, I don't like to aerify and then pre-m, I like to wait another 6-8 weeks to punch holes.
Very intelligent of you to get someone with proper equipment and experience, just make sure he is licensed too. Ask him questions too, it will only help.

Personally, I prefer liquid apps to rid broadleaf weeds etc.
Sub-contract Aerifying available too
Old 04-09-2008, 09:45 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JShe8918 View Post