Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 12-13-2001, 01:40 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Using flyers to attract customers - is this new approach feasible?

Ok, I had an idea tonight...

I'm just starting out, and want to put flyers out door to door in February/March. I'm operating in Central New Jersey.

On the flyer, I know some people look at the property as they hand them out.. For example,

... Weekly grass cutting - Your charge per week would be $___ per week..

and they handwrite in $25, 30, 40, etc..

Now, here's the new idea... Rough draft version..

Has anyone ever added a coupon type of thing to the bottom of
the flyer that says "Reccomend me to a neighbor and I'll take $5.00 a week off of YOUR price!!"

This way, the neighbors will start talking.. And if you deliver service, neighbor A will say, Yeah, I use Joe Blow grass cutting and neighbor A would actually have an incentive to get neighbor B to also use me.. And of course this would have to be disclaimed to something like "Must be within 1 block distance from your house" or whatever cause then I'll have customers cross-recommending each other 3 towns away.. <G>

But, conceptually, does anyone think the idea is workable, or absolutly, no way?

I figure by doing 2 lawns that are neighbors, I would pass that savings on to the original person who gave me the word of mouth..

Just like when you have a friend sign up for cable-modem access, you get a month free.. <G>
Old 12-13-2001, 01:44 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

I tried a coupon this spring. It was $10 off any of my other services with a year cutting agreement. Really wasn't worth the time I had involved in it. Picked up some, but not what I expected.
Old 12-13-2001, 02:16 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

I do 10 thousand flyers in the spring. Yes it works.
The down side is its time consuming if you hand deliver.
Or expensive if you pay for the mailing.