Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 06-13-2008, 07:42 PM
LawnSite Member

Help for a new guy

I am very new to lawn care - have only taken care of my yard. The industry that I currently work in is very volatile and I feel that I am close to being laid off. My wife and I have always wanted to start a business and we noticed that there are no organic lawn care services offered in our town. I have been doing reading on organic lawn care and have run from the idea of a Spray Green franchise. I am brewing my own compost tea for the first time on Monday as I do more research. But, is there anywhere I can take classes or receive training on organic lawn care so I can become proficient enough to start an organic lawn care business? Thanks for any suggestions you might have for a new guy.
Old 06-13-2008, 08:11 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

you are in probably the best classroom you can find right now. Look through the old threads and study up. There are reading materials that people recommend. I started a post a while ago "back to the basics." I asked a TON of questions earlier this year and pissed some people off. I then posted what I learned in an easy understandable way for someone like yourself. Check it out, it is just what it is, the basics. There is a link below.

Other than that, just keep studying. Your getting in at the wrong time of the season. Everyone has found their company for the year but if you advertise right not everyone likes their company. And the organics is a good nack to put yourself above everyone else.

Good luck,

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.p...ghlight=basics
Old 06-13-2008, 08:23 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member

I am only a 2 hour drive away, the door is always open, every wed nite we give FREE classes

just east of the lake, stuart fl, we just set another LCO up in broward, he loves it. theres nothing to buy, we are not sales people, no products.
Old 06-13-2008, 08:53 PM
LawnSite Silver Member