Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-18-2000, 03:27 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I have heard of some people using weed eaters to do the edging around sidewalks and drives. I have also heard the same about edgers. What I was wondering which one do you like better? Which one does a better job? I'm just starting out so I'm kinda on a budget. I can afford an edger but if most people feel I don't need one than I'm sure I could find something else to spend that money on. Also has anyone had any experiance with a Stihl edger? Thanks
Old 01-18-2000, 03:33 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

You need an edger. You can edge with a string trimmer with an edgit* attachment, but they're kinda clumsy (my opinion) We bought a few in 1997 but took them off. You can also edge with a trimmer after the edge has been established. This actually leaves a much cleaner anb sharper edge, but takes a certain skill and is pretty slow.<p>You need an steel-blade edger. Perhaps consider getting a split-boom to save on budget. You can't go wrong with Stihl, though, they make really good products.
Old 01-18-2000, 03:57 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Lazer what is this split broom you are talking about?
Old 01-18-2000, 04:13 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

There's some talk down farther on this board that's worth looking at, but...<p>A lot of companies are building trimmers with a coupling in the middle allowing for other attchments to be used. Some options include: edger, hedge trimmer, broom, cultivator, pruning saw, etc.<p>I like 'em.
Old 05-05-2008, 10:28 PM
LawnSite Member

I just purchased one by Troybuilt and the trimmer was about $275 and they have atatchments for edging, pruning and cleanup. The engine is IMO a little underpowered for the edger but it does the trick. Im really thinking of taking it back because now that iv used it if i keep it trimmed i really shouldnt need it anymore.

so really just rent one.
Old 05-05-2008, 11:17 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member