Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 01-08-2002, 02:08 AM
LawnSite Member

Too much overhead??

I've been in business for two years now, this past year I dedicated a bit more time to it. Im a solo operator which has help from time to time, but IM definitely running my self into the ground with all this work. Anyway IM not sure if Im overdoing it on the overhead, or maybe i'd like to just be debt free quicker, dont know. BUt heres my lineup
86 f150 with ez dumper
86 f150
94 New Holland Skidsteer L553
150gravely 50" deck
troybuilt 33"deck
tractor lawnmower 46"
2 ryhobis weed wacker
1echo weed wacker
stihl 025 chainsaw
2 backpack blowers redmax & poulan
Billgoat 16 HP tailgate debris loader
Little WOnder 19 hp blower
5x12 open trailer
8x20 pintle hook trailer 6 ton

I havent used the skidsteer all that much but can i really get my money out of it , considering its expense and i have to have commercial insurance to drag the trailer its on. Did i make the right choices? any suggestions
thanks
paul
Old 01-08-2002, 02:18 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

It's a little hard to tell how you are doing without knowing what type of work you are doing and the size of the projects. Can you give us a better idea of the work that you are doing?
Old 01-08-2002, 02:34 AM
LawnSite Member

i do a little bit of everything. I mow, mulch, trim bushes, brush clearing, aerating, leaf removal, grade lots, small tree removal, etc....
Old 01-08-2002, 04:25 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Mechanized labor is where this industry is heading.
Old 01-08-2002, 09:24 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member