Register free!

Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2008, 04:33 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,565
Wadayouthink?

Got a Irritrol Total Control that's blowing the 2 amp fuses after a couple of
days of operation. Before I get the electricians over to pull the 115 connection,
I'm wondering if I've a bad transformer or a GFI going south.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2008, 04:58 PM
frumdig frumdig is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: nunya
Posts: 127
i had a controller doing this to me once, and i noticed a couple outlets that had been added to the exterior of this guys house, well, a planter was added at some point and alot of these outlets were half burried and in prime places to hold water.... the outlets were added off the same circuit the controller was using in the garage... he had an electrician come out and fix everything, no problems since... so it could be worth looking at the locations of other outlets... and whats using them...

-Evan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:06 PM
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,910
Was the problem from the 120volt supply side being too high on voltage?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:09 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Was the problem from the 120volt supply side being too high on voltage?
It could be, I measured 129 volts just now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:35 PM
Tom Tom Tom Tom is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
Got a Irritrol Total Control that's blowing the 2 amp fuses after a couple of
days of operation. Before I get the electricians over to pull the 115 connection,
I'm wondering if I've a bad transformer or a GFI going south.
Get a rainmaster
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:37 PM
bcg bcg is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tx
Posts: 1,779
129 should be in the range. I see them as high as 135 from time to time with no problems. I assume the fuse is in the controller, not the wall wart, right? If so, the transformer is more likely the problem or a short somewhere in the controller itself that's causing it to draw too much current. Does it just happen intermittently or is it when the program runs or a specific valve opens?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:40 PM
Tom Tom Tom Tom is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcg View Post
129 should be in the range. I see them as high as 135 from time to time with no problems. I assume the fuse is in the controller, not the wall wart, right? If so, the transformer is more likely the problem or a short somewhere in the controller itself that's causing it to draw too much current. Does it just happen intermittently or is it when the program runs or a specific valve opens?

CAUTION: Mike will label you a piker since you are unable to read his mind
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:03 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Tom View Post
CAUTION: Mike will label you a piker since you are unable to read his mind
Piker.......The clock seems to run for a couple of days (I drive by every morning) & then blows the fuse. There is a sign connected to the clock power so I'm wondering if the surge is doing it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:16 PM
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
Piker.......The clock seems to run for a couple of days (I drive by every morning) & then blows the fuse. There is a sign connected to the clock power so I'm wondering if the surge is doing it.
The fuse is for the low voltage on the controller right? What voltage reading do you get there? Actually, I do not think it even matters..... amps is amps and THAT is what blows a fuse.

So, why is the controller pulling more than 2 amps? Did you test the amps being pulled?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:29 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,352
If the sign has a transformer, that could be the trouble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.

Page generated in 0.09308 seconds with 8 queries