Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 07-26-2008, 02:17 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

kawasaki -no fire= deere lx172

I bought a used lx172 deere lawn tractor with a fs420v as10 kawasaki motor (14hp). It has no fire. I am a small engine mechanic, but this one has stumped me so far.
The flywheel key is good. The keyways on both the crankshaft and the flywheel are good.
I replaced the coil (magneto) and electronic ignition (ignitor/excitor) with new, then I tested with a spark tester many different ways:
1: Kill/ignitor wire removed from coil.
2: Kill wire on coil, but wire from ignitor to ignition switch disconnected.
3: Did tests with coil spade grounded to see if it was a "ground to fire" coil (like some old OMC coils).
4: Tested with white wire grounded before the ignitor and coil. This wire was disconnected from the ignition switch when tested.
Actually, there is a miniscule amount of fire (not enough to ignite fuel in motor) when kill wire is disconnected from the coil.
Fuel --- I have primed to test (through carb and put fuel in cylinder)
Compression ----- 90 psi
Does the white wire going from the ignition switch to the ignitor(electronic ignition) and then to the coil require some voltage to produce ignition in this motor? Has anyone ever had to change the flywheel magnet/s or flywheel?
If anyone has encountered this problem, please advise.

Thanks, Dennis
Old 07-26-2008, 05:01 PM
LawnSite Member

find the flat 3 wire connector running from the engine to the wiring harness. unplug it. you've now isolated the ignition from the machine.

check your spark plug cap. some of them had a resistor built into them and they go bad sometimes.

make sure they gave you the right coil.

i had a lx come in the shop with the same condition.

customer had installed a new style coil that has the ignitor built into it. they will not work on an external ignitor equipped engine unless you change the flywheel.