Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 08-02-2008, 10:46 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

First KILL

Well....this is my 5th year in lawncare and I never have never received the dreaded phone call from a customer about killing their flowers or anything in their garden......

Until a phone call I received a few days ago!

DANG IT, I screwed up!

Not sure how it happened, other then I just got too close or a wind drift.

This is my first time, and I was totally sick about it. Customer called and said I smoked some tomatoes. I went over there, and sure enough I did!

Does this happen much to you guys?

How do you handle these situations?

My good buddy on here (Grassguy) gave me a great idea. Said to buy here some tomatoes.

How do you guys handle?
Old 08-02-2008, 11:11 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

I smoked some petunias with a sedge hammer app last week. Was using a backpack spayer, thought I was close enough to the target to avoid drift.... WRONG!

The customer doesn't seem to know what happened. I'm just gonna replace them with another annual.... and not say a word. I can take at least some comfort in the fact that this very small flower bed needed to be renovated anyways....
Old 08-02-2008, 11:28 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

I have not killed any landscape I didn't mean to but I sure did nuke a C4 yard one time just by mistake.
And just before the client held a huge wedding party for one of his sons.
I explained what happened, dyed the dead turf green and when I spoke to the wife later she said no one even noticed the damaged turf.
So, after the party - fully expecting to get fired - I approach the client, explain I will replace the front yard in it's entirety and asked him two questions.
Namely, did he want a different species of turfgrass and how about adjusting the stone border - since my insurance was paying for it nows the time to get the changes free.