Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 08-04-2008, 09:59 PM
LawnSite Member

Stripping - Toro 100 Series SFS deck

I'm not a professional; I'm just a homeowner who appreciates a beautiful yard and I would be very grateful indeed for any information that would help me solve to 2 issues involving my ZTR.

First the background - - - I just purchased a 1999 Toro 100 Series Z-Master (Z147) with a 44" Super Flow System deck and the Dump From Seat clam-shaped vacuum bagger.

Although I have read enough to know the SFS decks don't flow nearly as well as the newer Turbo Force decks; I'm just a homeowner looking to mow only my own acreage and I was able to buy this mower with only 155 hours on it for about 1/2 the cost of a new equivalent.

Although I have installed new standard Toro blades, use the vacuum bagger, mow my yard at 3 3/4" with full throttle and low ground speed; the stripping quality just doesn't appear nearly as good as I've seen with other commercial mowers; or even as good as with my old Toro Wheel Horse.

Secondly the mower kicks up way more dust and debris from the front of the deck than I would have thought would be acceptable to you guys who ride these mowers hours daily - - - - I'm talking about enough debris in the air that I need to wear goggles to protect my eyes and my legs have a noticable amount of grass/debris on them in only 20 minutes of mowing.

I'm aware that Toro has a stripping kit for this deck, but I have not purchased one yet. So with this as a background my questions are as follows - - -

1) Is it normal for a ZTR, or more specifically this one, to kick enough debris into the air from the front of the deck to be a nuisance?

2) Is the Toro stripping kit effective in improving the "cut-appeal" stripping of this older SFS deck; or do you think the deck is just too shallow to ever produce a good-looking stripe?