Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:24 PM
dhess's Avatar
dhess dhess is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 126
Irritrol Dial 36 - FUSE BLINK

anyone familar with Irritrol Dial 36 (unknown if its a 36b, just remember it saying 36 before I left).

Irritrol dial 36

I'm getting blinking fuse light but I'm not quite sure where the fuse is located. This is indoor version.

The Property Manager wanted to have a go at it before I did so I just left but I noticed he pulled the whole board out when I came back to collect my remote. I did a quick glance and didn't see any fuses though.

Maybe they are on the back of the board between the board and back of box?
__________________
TX LI-0015572
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:53 PM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,257
Ive only seen that clock twice and neither had a fuse issue. I would guess back of board as you did.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:54 PM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,734
I believe you just push the time button while reprogramming to reset. Someone will know I'm sure. I've rarely seen that one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2008, 10:29 PM
bicmudpuppy's Avatar
bicmudpuppy bicmudpuppy is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aztec, NM
Posts: 2,792
It has been a number of years since I've seen one of those, but memory says that "fuse" means a bad circuit w/ irritrol. The link you posted will have instructions, follow it to reset and see if it "goes away". If it comes back, you have a bad zone/wire/solenoid.
__________________
Over educated
Over Qualified
Glorified Ditch Digger
....but still a bargain compared to anything else.
And I NEVER say I told you so out loud.
How many Hats can you wear?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2008, 02:24 PM
dhess's Avatar
dhess dhess is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicmudpuppy View Post
It has been a number of years since I've seen one of those, but memory says that "fuse" means a bad circuit w/ irritrol. The link you posted will have instructions, follow it to reset and see if it "goes away". If it comes back, you have a bad zone/wire/solenoid.
I couldn't find any manuals for this controller on their site except for newer version which apparently has a *clear* button. After returning to the site and giving the whole thing *my lookover* it has no fuses on board anywhere so its a fault that has to be reset some other way.

I called Irritrol and they said to hold down advance *up/down* buttons and it should reset by that. I tried that, but it didn't work. Now that I think about it I believe one of the advance buttons didn't work correctly on the box so it is probably that from allowing it to reset.

I let it sit over night unplugged and battery off and same error *FUSE* no station numbers showed up.

So I'm calling it...

12:43pm 08/21/2008. Irritrol Dial 36 RIP.

I'm going to try and get them to pay for a replace with a Hunter ICC.

So just curious what do you guys think a *reasonable* install time is for a 31 station outdoor controller indoors would be?

heres the pic of where I get to work with



My experience is about 3-4 hours meaning hooking up all the wires the SAME as before (system is mapped so I don't want to mess that up), hooking up pigtail same time other wiring is done, testing for any surge/ground/solenoid problems, test running all the stations walking the property, programming the box...ect.

At least with the Hunter ICC I can take the modules out and plug the wires in and then snap it onto the board (if they are long enough). NOW if I can plug the wires into the modules before removing the Dial 36 and slip it into that hole in the bottom and NOT have to spend time to mark all the stations...it might get done in about 2 hrs.

thoughts?
__________________
TX LI-0015572
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2008, 04:55 PM
irrig8r irrig8r is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 4,545
The manual I have is for an earlier version. It had a red reset button on the left, just like the MC series of it's era.
__________________
Landscaper. Irrigator. Illuminator. Music lover. Coffee drinker.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2008, 08:07 PM
dhess's Avatar
dhess dhess is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by irrig8r View Post
The manual I have is for an earlier version. It had a red reset button on the left, just like the MC series of it's era.

the button outside the box on the panel? couldn't find one here.
__________________
TX LI-0015572
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2008, 09:47 PM
Waterit's Avatar
Waterit Waterit is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 2,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhess View Post
NOW if I can plug the wires into the modules before removing the Dial 36 and slip it into that hole in the bottom and NOT have to spend time to mark all the stations...it might get done in about 2 hrs.

thoughts?
Haven't seen one of those in years - last one I replaced took a lightning hit that blew the door and face panel off and into a lake about 100 ft. away - and fused the remaing part of the enclosure to the metal building it was mounted on. Won't go into the 100's of feet of 3" main that we had to replace or the 1000's of feet of control wire or the # of solenoids.

Anyway - I just installed 2 ICC's, with mods, and I don't think the mods will fit thru the 1" access hole in the 36. Oh yeah - ICC has a 32-zone limit.
__________________
BK
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2008, 10:54 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,544
The Metal-case ICC has a 48-zone capacity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2008, 11:01 PM
dhess's Avatar
dhess dhess is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
The Metal-case ICC has a 48-zone capacity.
this ones luckily 29 stations.

just how old is this control box? you guys are acting like this is ancient.
__________________
TX LI-0015572
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 AM.

Page generated in 0.10482 seconds with 7 queries