Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 08-31-2008, 11:36 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Ethanol in our gasoline

Do any of you guys have gasoline with ethanol in it?? Where I am-there are several of the surrounding counties add "no more than 10% ethanol." Is there any negative side effects from using it?? I have heard nothing but negative things about it-and I am wondering why they are adding this sapposed crap to our gasoline??? I had heard that it basically "bonds" to water and can make water in your gas (somehow). I am no mechanic, but my mechanic was really griping about it. He said right now we'll see the effects of the two-cycles and they're going nuts already-later the bigger stuff and eventually even in our vehicles! Is there anyone who knows anything about this?
Old 08-31-2008, 12:31 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

ya we have it here in florida just about every gas station. a sticker on the gas pump by the handle says this...seems to me the gas burns faster and i am making more trips to fill up the mowers and truck...just sucks! now with the hurricane gustav, yahoo was saying gas prices might/will spike to over 5.00 a gallon..totally sucks!

http://biz.yahoo.com/ap/080829/oil_prices.html

Last edited by billslawn89; 08-31-2008 at 12:35 PM.
Old 08-31-2008, 12:34 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

There was another thread around here somewhere and someone mentioned Ethanol really jacking up mowers. I don't know much about it, I know I'm trying to stay clear of it in case.

Over the last few weeks my mower will start to sputter and pop and eventually die all together sometimes. Have yet to find the reason for it, my mechanic said it seemed like water in the gas. Noticed the other day the gas station I had started using was using ethanol. I'm going to switch and see if it makes a difference.

Old 08-31-2008, 12:36 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member