Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-14-2008, 04:06 PM
LawnSite Member

leaves on lawns

Hey guys. So I have been doing this for about 8 years now, and this time of year I always have the same feelings about the lawns. There are too many leaves to mow, but not enough to charge for a clean up. I need to come up with some standard that says we mow it, or not. For instance if the judgment is that we will take away x many extra barells, or if we are going to spend x amount of time there, then we will do a clean up...or leave it for a clean up when there are more leaves down. I am in MA does anyone else have a system for this time of year just before cleanups start?
Old 10-14-2008, 04:22 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I feel the same way. I would be interested in hearing how others handle this.
11 years experience
www.standforstrength.com
Old 10-14-2008, 04:27 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I only do cleanups for mowing customers. If a mowing customer doesnt hire me for a cleanup and im still mowing the leaves just get chopped up and thrown around. If they are a cleanup customer the bagger goes on and the yard gets a cleanup evry week. It only helps me when the real clean ups begin.

SOLO OPERATION
Old 10-14-2008, 04:30 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by punt66 View Post
I only do cleanups for mowing customers. If a mowing customer doesnt hire me for a cleanup and im still mowing the leaves just get chopped up and thrown around. If they are a cleanup customer the bagger goes on and the yard gets a cleanup evry week. It only helps me when the real clean ups begin.
Yeah that about sums it up and if I feel like im doing to much... I keep that in mind while im billing for clean-ups. I have it in my contract though that clean-ups are done automatically unless the customer requests not to have it...
Bunton 36" WB
Couple Echo Trimmers and stick edgers
Stihl BR600 BP
Husqvarna 145 BT BP
Old 10-14-2008, 04:36 PM
LawnSite Member