Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-11-2002, 04:58 AM
LawnSite Member

Anyone has weld homemade Trailor?

Hi, I am new to site site. I look at this site like "wow". New site to me. Seem This site best everI find.

Anyway hmm.. Anyone have weld homemake trailor? I plan to order plan kit with design plan. Any suggestion? I am plan built is 6 x 12.

Weld is my hobby.

Tony
Old 02-11-2002, 09:37 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

i havent done it before but no people that have, they enjoyd it and its nice to see the final result, also nice to be able to make it exactly how u want it.
Old 02-11-2002, 04:28 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Myself and 75 on this site and plowsite.com have made trailers. The nice part is that you can make one exactly how you want to. I have been able to specifically make trailers for a lot less then it would have cost to have a special one made.

Why then do I buy trailers as well? It is because premade trailers are easier to buy. A trailer is not easy to make. Although you could make it in you yard with a good welder, I think it would be difficult. The key is getting everythin square. sometimes weld have to be done underneath and at odd angle. Having a good flat shop space, supports and an pverhead lift make the job easier and better in the end. Sure it can be done without these items but it may not turn out as well or take longer. In the end I think it comes down to how much time and effort you are willing to spend to get the results of your time and how you value that time. Good Luck if you go this route.
Old 02-11-2002, 08:30 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

CT18 is right, you can build your own but it is a fair amount of work to do it right. Having the plan kit you mention is a good first step if you haven't built a trailer before.