Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-30-2008, 12:24 PM
LawnSite Member

Need some advice from the guys in Minnesota

My wife is being relocated to the St. Paul area of Minnesota. We currently live in Florida were I have been doing irrigation/landscape lighting for the last 10 years. I am a licensed contractor, IA Certified Contractor, EPA WaterSense partner, Florida Water Star Certified, Acclima Certified installer, the list goes on but that just gives you an idea of how much time I have invested in this industry. Now I find myself having to move to an area where I have very few if any contacts in the business if any and where we have a limited season. I also know there are some differences in the industry how things are done there since I had to go over some of that for my IA certification.

So guys be honest with me how in trouble am I with this move?
Old 11-01-2008, 10:58 PM
LawnSite Member

I am in need of someone that does irrigation. I cut grass, clean ups, and push snow. I am trying hard to get into water features. I know quite a few LCO's in town to use as contacts. I also am in business networking group that meets weekly to pass and give referrals. I was always getting people asking about trimming trees, I don't do that, but know I take on that type of work, but then sub it out to tree cutter I met. My point is there is always a demand for good service guys, no matter where you live. I would more than happy to talk with you.
Tim
Old 11-04-2008, 05:15 PM
LawnSite Member

No Problem

You won't have a problem up here at all. You'll have to get used to seasons. Irrigation season goes from April to Halloween basically. I can help you get all the information you need, just ask. 15 years ago, I tried to sell water audits to commercial clients, but it never took, now, the clients are at least talking about it.