Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 11-19-2008, 08:35 AM
LawnSite Member

65 acres/3 year contract/1 idiot

I am in the process of bidding a 65+ acre soccer complex in Northern IL.

I am gearing up with mowers, etc and want some security that I'll have the job next year and the following.

I will be requesting the contract--I don't know if the complex manager wants that, till I met with him the Friday. And I also feel the contract would negate a yearly bidding war--I want to keep prices where they should be.

Finally, HOW DO I BID IT? I would like to include YEARLY INCREASES (how much per year), or should I bid it straight across for 3 years? IF I BID IT THE SAME EACH YEAR, I WOULD HAVE TO COME IN WITH A HIGHER PRICE FOR THE FIRST YEAR, WHICH I FEEL COULD MAKE OUR COMPANY LOOK LESS ATTRACTIVE.

I'VE NEVER WORKED A BID LIKE THIS BEFORE--
WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

AM I REALLY AN IDIOT?http://www.lawnsite.com/images/smili...smiley-018.gif
THANKS
Old 11-19-2008, 09:34 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

No, you are really not an idiot. That is a bigger job than I could handle-way bigger. Try to determine what their motivation is for changing the way they are currently doing this job. Unfortunately, in the current economy, the answer probably is not "improved playing conditions."

The job will likely sell for what they feel solving that problem is worth and have nothing to do with what it costs you, much less find profitable. If the low bid does not financially solve whatever their current problem is - they need another mower, want to outsource the work to save pension or health insurance liability, etc. - then they are probably not going to change horses. That is not (yet) your problem or concern.

If you can bid it at a point that makes you happy and they accept it, good for everyone. Just be careful that you do not buy whatever their current problem is from them. My guess is that this is an accounting decision more than anything for them.