Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 12-15-2008, 01:55 PM
LawnSite Member

a little paver advice please

hey guys... Ive been in the landscape/landscape management busness for quite a while but im new to hardscapes. I would like to do some paver work at my house for learning and looks as well. Its just going to be a simple sidewalk to the front porch. aprox. 175sq'. I have done flagstone sidewalks before so i know how to dig down and lay the crushed rock. What i do not know is...where do i start...outside or inside of sidewalk? What do i use to cut the pavers when needed? and any other advice would be great...thanks
Old 12-15-2008, 05:46 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Ideal cutting would be a diamond blade wet saw or a demo saw. If you have you can use a cold chisel with the score and break method, but it sort of depends on the paver too. As for where to start it kind of varies by person. You do need to start at the bottom of a slope. For the layout you can either edge first and then screed the bedding sand or screed and then edge after border is done. There are advantages to each. Most will lay the inside first, then cut the edges, then lay the border. There is a lot more to it than that so go to ICPI website and start reading up on the tech articles. Good Luck
Old 12-16-2008, 07:06 PM
LawnSite Member

pavers

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcountry01 View Post
hey guys... Ive been in the landscape/landscape management busness for quite a while but im new to hardscapes. I would like to do some paver work at my house for learning and looks as well. Its just going to be a simple sidewalk to the front porch. aprox. 175sq'. I have done flagstone sidewalks before so i know how to dig down and lay the crushed rock. What i do not know is...where do i start...outside or inside of sidewalk? What do i use to cut the pavers when needed? and any other advice would be great...thanks