Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-21-2002, 07:40 PM
LawnSite Member

What would you do differently?

I am expanding my business this year. I have been a legal small time operator for two years. I am planning on putting on a second crew. I would like to draw upon your experience, I want to do it right at the start in stead of changing down the road. Thanks
Old 02-21-2002, 11:03 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm confused by your thread title relative to your post - what would you do differently compared to what?

Do you have specific questions about adding a crew? Otherwise, I'd say hire good people, buy them equipment, teach them what to do.
Old 02-23-2002, 11:56 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

If you're asking those who have added second or third crews, what would you differently having been through it once already? Then I'd say...

Build the crew as you sell the jobs and can handle the customer service. Make sure you have the internal support systems in place, the policies and procedures within your company, to keep another 50 or 100 customers happy.

Look at your turn over ratio of customers. Are they staying with you? If you're loosing 30% of your customers each year to attrition of one sort or another, maybe you should focus on keeping your current customers satisfied. If they are staying with you, and you want to grow, then add the second truck. Maybe they'll only cut one, two or three days a week. The other days you'll book extras or enhancements. The new crew has to be flexible... they won't be booked with cutting right away. It'll take some work on your part as well to schedule for the second crew all the odd jobs they'll be doing, but it's a way to grow without over extending yourself.