Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-23-2009, 03:01 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

collection dilema...

How would you handle this customer. I have been servicing this property for 15 years with no problems. Recently they fell behind in their payments because a family member was very sick. I continued to mow without payment longer than I normally would. To make a long story short, I have not been paid since August 2008. I spoke to the lady 2 months ago, and she acknowledged that she owed me money and assured me she would get me paid. Her husband just passed away in late December, and they just had the funeral a couple of weeks ago. I am trying to be compassionate, but I can't continue cutting without payment. How would you handle this? I have been sending bills, but they get no response. By the way, I also service yards for two other family members in the area, so if I tick her off, I could lose 3 accounts.
Old 01-23-2009, 03:41 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

She'll pay you. Just add on a small late fee for your troubles. Have a heart (if her story is really true). Remember what goes around comes around. In your case at least two times.
7'x18' Custom Open Trailer
7'x12' Big Tex Open Trailer
8.5'x24' King American Enclosed
2006 Grasshopper 928D 61" (4,700 hrs!! )
2011 Grasshopper 930D
2005 JD 737 60"
Snapper 21" Hi-Vac Commercial
Lawnboy 21" Duraforce x2
Shindaiwa: T2500 | T231 | T242 | LE261 | EB630RT | 488 | DH2510 | RS76S
Tanaka: TBC-255PF | TBC-280PF | TPH-270PF
Fisher 8'6" Extreme V SS
Old 01-23-2009, 05:29 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

my brother in law just past a way a few months ago and my wife got behind on a few little bills. not because she could not afford them , but it was that everything else is on her plate. take it easy and she'll come around..
Old 01-23-2009, 05:36 PM
LawnSite Senior Member