Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-01-2002, 04:46 PM
LawnSite Member

Pricing for Mowing

Yes, I did use search feature but there are thousand of them that I could not read them all. I found out that there are different ways to price the mowing job. Some of you price by hourly, some price by per thousand square feet, some by per acre. I have 11 years of mowing experience and I have been mowing a few of my customers' lawn for several years when I was teenager using their and my parents' mower. This year will be my first year mowing while DBA. I am planning on expanding my business, getting more customers, so I will have to get my own lawn mower and trailer. So I will have to make a new pricing and I am not sure how much to price because I will be mowing with my own expenses so it will add up.

I usually charge by hourly, but I like the idea of setting a minimum charge. But it would not be a big factor because here in New York most lawns are 3/4 acre and larger. I am not sure about pricing per thosand square foot because I don't think that is how they do that here. So I would like to know how much do you usually charge per hour? Pricing varies from area to area. I heard that down in Texas that some people are making $30 an half hour. That's a big difference. I know that everyone have their own cost, but I just would like to get a rough idea of how much you charge per hour. One of major factor in pricing per hour is the size of mower deck. Big difference between 38" and 54". So I think this is one of the reason why you price by per thousand square feet.
So I'll also give some thought about pricing per thousand square feet.