Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-04-2009, 02:32 PM
LawnSite Member

Marketing suggestions?

I've been working for a landscape company for 6 years. During this period of time I have also been doing alot of side work. I have a bachelors in business and would like to start increasing my number of accounts to a point where I can sustain enough work to support myself and eventually run a successful company. I'm looking for any suggestions that have secured business in this field.
Old 02-04-2009, 03:50 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

where you from? Different tactics generate different results across the country.
Old 02-04-2009, 07:29 PM
LawnSite Member

My Program

My company is in Georgia, middle to upper income outside Alanta FYI The other guy is right market and area will play a part!

I have an advertising budget of $5800.00 per year, I know that sounds like a lot, but here is how it breaks down:

Door Hangers – 10,000 per year $800.00
Bandit Signs – 100 Per Year $150.00
Post Card Mailings – 6 Per Year (MAR / APR / MAY) Lawn Service and Mowing (SEP / OCT / NOV) Fall Clean up, Holiday Lighting, and Landscape Lighting. (3000 per mailing $4,860 per year)

I get about a .6 return on customers who sign up or approximately 80 new accounts per year from the post cards. If the average is $100.00 (low end) per month per new customer, then we gross $8000.00 per month or about $96,000.00 in new sales agreements.

I use bandit signs at intersections where I have a captive audience. The signs are off the road, but visible, Important to make it harder for the local folks to have to work to pick up your “illegal” sign. Ever see the real estate signs on the side of the road, they last a weekend or little longer, then the city or county “Sign Marshal” goes and collects them. If they have to go far off the road or they are higher than they can reach, the sign stays put. I have had some signs in the same intersections for 3 years