Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-05-2009, 09:07 PM
LawnSite Member

So tell me why this is a bad idea. 4.9 gpm $640 new

Just to preface, I am a realtor and take care of several properties. It would get more than homeowner use, but I am not looking to start a pressure washing company. Opinions?

Harbor Trash sells this for $799 and I have a 20% coupon.

13hp 4000psi 4.9gpm

Harbor Trash link-
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=97005
Old 02-06-2009, 12:52 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

"Engine speed: 3600 ROM; 17 oz. oil capacity;"

Based on this alone, I would run the other way. I think ROM is Read Only Memory, and I'm not sure what place it has on a Chinese knock off Honda engines description. Also, at 13hp, it better have more than 17oz of oil in it.

But hey, your money, your lesson.
Old 02-06-2009, 07:15 AM
LawnSite Member

I think it is a chinese knock off as most stuff from that place is. I guess I should have asked if there are any better alternatives for the money. I dont want to go below 4gpm.
Old 02-06-2009, 08:24 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

You asked so I'll tell...... It is mis-represented first of all. A 13 hp wil not produce 4.9 gpm @ 4000 psi!

At best the machine is 4 gpm at 3500psi or 3.5 gpm at 4000 psi. A 13 hp won't do what is advertised. It may even do the 4.9 gpm but only 2900 psi.

I really don't know why you don't just form a relationship with a PROFESSIONAL Power Washer and refer the work and maybe tack on a little percentage. There is so much more to cleaning than folks think. These big box stores aren't helping any either selling these things with advice that anyone can do it.

That's all I'll say. Anyhow, the machine isn't worth $10 to a Pro that knows better.

Want a good relaible machine? Call Bob at http://www.pressuretek.com
Awesome Pressure Washing and Great Cleaning Service
Follow us on Facebook.. facebook.com/powerwash
Old 02-06-2009, 09:37 AM
LawnSite Member