Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-13-2009, 12:30 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

NJ lanscape license proposal Senate NO. 2302

Hello,

I am a landscape contractor located in NJ. Recently the senate introduced Senate No. 2302 which is a proposal to license and register landscape professionals in the state of NJ. Under the new proposal, a review board within the NJ Department of Agriculture will perform such duties as review the qualifications of applicants and establish standards for examination. I am writing this letter in regard to the proposed involvement of the NJDA in this proposal.

As mentioned, I am a landscape contractor in the state of NJ. Though the title suggests that I do such things as install mulch, trees, shrubs, and lawns, I primarily do not. The main focus of my business is what is called hardscaping. That includes the installation of brick paving stone walks, patios, and driveways. It also includes the installation of wood structures such as gazebos, sheds and trellis, and includes the installation of retaining walls, front entrance stoops, and outdoor kitchens.

According to the landscape license proposal, any one performing the tasks I mentioned above would be considered a ‘landscape professional’ and be subject to the terms and conditions of the new proposal. This would therefore include far more people than just landscapers. This would also include such professionals as paving companies, masons who perform outdoor work, and deck builders. Therefore, according to this proposal, the NJDA would now be responsible for reviewing qualifications and establishing examination standards for business such as masons, driveway installers, deck builders, and landscape contractors.