Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-21-2009, 01:27 PM
LawnSite Member

New purchase I need advice!

Buying my first chainsaw. Just bought a wood burning stove and have 80+ acres to cut wood so why not. Chainsaw's. I know enough to fill a thimble. Where I am at now. Two local dealers. Both I trust equally. My budget is $300.00. Husqvarna 445E or Echo CS400. I am using it for firewood only. Cant seem to pull trigger on either one so any advice as always is appreciated. Might add. I have always bought echo blowers, trimmers and the like with complete satisfaction. Chainsaws are out of my area of any experience. Yes there is a local Stihl dealer but I have no experience with them. Stihl is NOT out of the question.

Last edited by luv2mow; 02-21-2009 at 01:33 PM.
Old 02-21-2009, 05:36 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by luv2mow View Post
Buying my first chainsaw. Just bought a wood burning stove and have 80+ acres to cut wood so why not. Chainsaw's. I know enough to fill a thimble. Where I am at now. Two local dealers. Both I trust equally. My budget is $300.00. Husqvarna 445E or Echo CS400. I am using it for firewood only. Cant seem to pull trigger on either one so any advice as always is appreciated. Might add. I have always bought echo blowers, trimmers and the like with complete satisfaction. Chainsaws are out of my area of any experience. Yes there is a local Stihl dealer but I have no experience with them. Stihl is NOT out of the question.
I prefer Huskys and Jonsereds chainsaws, myself.
And I've got an old McColloch ProMac 610 that's 25 years old now, that refuses to die!

1st and foremost, buy from the dealer who you instinctively feel is going to give you the best service down the road, when you might need it.

And look for dealers with a longer history of business..