Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:10 PM
GreenLight GreenLight is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 425
To be quite honest, that Drafix software looks top notch for the landscaping field. With a price tag of $1400.00 it must be good because most landscape based software can't pull off a $100.00 price tag unless it's considered "professional designer worthy", you definitely see a bunch of crappy stuff out there that is really meant to sucker in a homeowner who is trying to build his dreamscape with a bunch of simulated stuff..

I honestly can't speak for others though, because I have no idea. To be honest I use cad only because that is what was taught when I was in college for landscape design and that was 10 years ago. (honestly though, Cad is not terribly user friendly for strictly landscape design in my opinion and that is why I integrated it with another program).

That drafix software looks really good, im impressed by the presentation. For all I know that could be the highest rated and most popular landscape software there is, it's quite possible im just a dinosaur using outdated technology. My general opinion is, it's not rocket science, if you find a program that you are comfortable with and has a professional final product then you are a step ahead of a lot of people.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-24-2009, 11:23 PM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,024
I use the RainCad suite. It has a Design CAD platform it is based on. It is also compatable with standard Autocad and Autocad Lt. programs in a DWG drawing format. It is mildly technical and has a bit of a learning curb, but I like it because I can put out professional quality line drawings so, engineers, architects and other designers can import directly into their CAD software and incorporate into their design packages also.
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-26-2009, 03:43 AM
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting's Avatar
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,009
This is an interesting and timely topic (for me). I am just in the process of choosing a CAD program to bring into my business. I have arranged some training with a local Architect who is willing to walk me through the basics and get me started. I am a bit overwhelmed by the cost of AutoCAD LT 2009 at over $1300 USD.

I have found a product called TurboCAD Deluxe 15 by Imsisoft. It appears to have all of the functionality and compatibility we would need for our work, at a fraction of the AutoCAD price. Keeping in mind that I am not interested in creating basemap layers but rather working with drawings that are already prepared by others and simply adding lighting systems to them.

Does anyone have any experience with TurboCAD from Imsisoft?
__________________
James Solecki
INTEGRA ~ Bespoke Lighting Systems ®
JSLDesign Inc.


www.integralighting.com

www.facebook.com/INTEGRA.Lighting

Affiliations: IESNA, IALD, IDA, AOLP, LO, MBA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-26-2009, 09:37 AM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,024
James,
That is the program I use. It is the platform I use to run (or used to run) Rain Cad with. I use the TurboCAD almost exclusively now without the Rain CAD part of it. It will do everything you want it to do and then some. They have some online tutorials that will get you up to speed fairly quickly. There is a lot of functionality with the program and it renders very professional results. What I like about it alot is the fact that you can import drawings from architects and create additional drawing layers right on the same drawing. You can turn their layers off so you can clean the clutter so to speak and you don't have to go out and measure all the buildings and hardscape if the architect has already done that for you. It is an amazingly powerful program for the price.
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:06 AM
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting's Avatar
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,009
Thanks for the info Tim. I am purchasing it online right now based on your recommendation.

Have a great day.
__________________
James Solecki
INTEGRA ~ Bespoke Lighting Systems ®
JSLDesign Inc.


www.integralighting.com

www.facebook.com/INTEGRA.Lighting

Affiliations: IESNA, IALD, IDA, AOLP, LO, MBA
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:04 AM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by INTEGRA Works Lighting View Post
Thanks for the info Tim. I am purchasing it online right now based on your recommendation.

Have a great day.
Good deal, you won't be disapointed.
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-27-2009, 11:19 PM
trailboss's Avatar
trailboss trailboss is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cowtown - Fort Worth, TX.
Posts: 180
I use Drafix Pro Landscape and really find it helpful. I can usually get a plot plan from the homeowner or builder and import that file into my software to save a good bit of time.
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:12 AM
bmwsmity bmwsmity is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 273
you can use a plotter with TurboCad, right? most plotters say they're for AutoCad...not sure if there's a difference???
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:16 AM
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting's Avatar
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,009
Yes, TurboCAD will print to a plotter or a printer.
__________________
James Solecki
INTEGRA ~ Bespoke Lighting Systems ®
JSLDesign Inc.


www.integralighting.com

www.facebook.com/INTEGRA.Lighting

Affiliations: IESNA, IALD, IDA, AOLP, LO, MBA
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:54 AM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by INTEGRA Works Lighting View Post
Yes, TurboCAD will print to a plotter or a printer.
Yep and Yep.
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.

Page generated in 0.09509 seconds with 7 queries