Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-10-2009, 09:25 PM
LawnSite Member

Can I get my equipment online cheaper??

With some of my other interests I can get things much cheaper by ordering online. So far as a newbie I can only find some things at the stores in town, not much selection, but I'd like to know if I can find good deals on trimmers, blowers, mowers thru some online store.
Old 03-10-2009, 09:38 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

On equipment? generally no. By the time you pay shipping you're usually at or above what you'd pay at a local dealer.

On large equipment like mowers? forget it.

Parts and accessories can usually be found on-line cheaper. but not always.

My local dealer sells things like fuel filters and other small parts for less than I've found them on-line anywhere.

And on shipping costs.... usually don't offset the sales tax break on the small items either.

I do buy a few things on ebay, but again I look at the shipping cost FIRST. Thousands of Ebay sellers make their money on the shipping and handling charges NOT on the item they sell.

The biggest pitfall to on-line purchases are returns..... gotta pay to get it shipped to you and then pay to ship it back. Some companies even make you pay to ship both ways on a "warranty repair"..

Again I do buy some items on-line but 95% of it is at the local dealer. I'm fortunate as there are at least a dozen "dealers" within 30-45 minutes of me which keeps competition stiff and prices down.

I have a love hate relationship with my dealer though.... service is great, parts prices are fair but equipment prices.... he's tough. even though he knows I won't pay retail, he makes it as painful as possible everytime.

Really pissed me off the other day. He had a grass packer listed on ebay for $285.00 INCLUDING SHIPPING. The ad said there was a $40 shipping alowance. So I figure I should be able to buy it in the store for $245+ tax right?