Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-30-2009, 04:27 PM
LawnSite Member

lime stone

Ok I've been installing ponds for over 10 years and i have a customer that likes the look of flat outcropping lime stone but i've heard that using lime stone in a pond will spike up the ph so high that you have a hard time lowering it, i know koi like a little bit of ph but also heard it causes large algae blooms I'm no chemist can anybody shine some light on this subject?

Jeff
Pondering Waters, MI
Old 04-30-2009, 04:49 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Limestone will give you hard water so I would think you could just add a water softner, just like on my well at home that is pulling water from a limestone aquifer (Castle Hayne). I was going to try to explain the difference between hard water and pH but found a better answer via google and an aquarium message board:
While water hardness and pH do not necessarily go hand-in-hand they often follow a trend in that hard water usually has a high pH while soft water has a low pH. This is the result of the fact that many dissolved minerals will inhibit the presence of free hydrogen ions one way or another. However, this is only a generality. In truth, you can have extremely hard water that is equally extremely acidic or vice versa.

Also, soft water tends to have a more dynamic pH than hard water. In other words, since soft water doesn't contain many dissolved minerals, its pH changes more easily than the pH of hard water. (Again, generality)

Hope that helps.
Old 04-30-2009, 06:19 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member