Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 06-01-2009, 09:47 PM
LawnSite Member

re-seeding

my lawn for some reason is dying. only 25% have grass growing. I went to spread some more seed on the top but its been like a week already and nothing. do i need some sort of top soil to cover it?

thanks
Old 06-01-2009, 10:01 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

grass seed sometimes dosn't germinate for 10-14 days .... give it 2 weeks then re apply seed to bare areas

CJ's Lawn Service LLC
Christopher Jodoin Owner
www.cjslawn.com
ICPI CERTIFIED PAVER INSTALLER
Lawncare-Landscaping-Snow Removal
Est.2002 Licensed and Insured
Old 06-01-2009, 10:03 PM
LawnSite Member

ok ill give it a try. another thing how long should i water my lawn?
and how often?
Old 06-06-2009, 01:30 AM
LawnSite Member

I'm not sure if you lawn is made up of warm season or cool season grasses. I have little experience with warm season grasses. The information below applies to cool season grasses like bluegrass, fescue and rye.

Your lawn should receive 1 to 1 1/2 inches of water weekly, whether from rainfall or from watering. Use a rain guage to monitor the rainfall, then once weekly, add enough water to push it to the recommended amount of water for that week. Don't forget to empty the rain guage right after watering.

It is important to do your watering in as few "installments" as possible, so that the water goes deeply into the soil. Watering lightly, and more often will give poor results. Light watering only moistens the top 1/4 inch or so of the soil, encouraging a shallow root system, since the roots will seek out the water.