Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:04 AM
FYS777's Avatar
FYS777 FYS777 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central, OR.
Posts: 2,305
tweaking the RPM's

how many of you or any, have tweaked the RPM's on your mowers??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:23 AM
Jason Rose's Avatar
Jason Rose Jason Rose is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hutchinson, Kansas
Posts: 5,777
Always. Any mower I've bought, new and used, gets checked with a tach to be sure it's running at the proper rpm's. Too low = poor cut and it's harder on the drive system. Too low rpm's also is bad for the engine, if it dosn't turn fast enough, the fan isn't moving enough air to keep it properly cooled. Too fast is bad too, but the actual high rpm setpoint is debated, and varies depending on the machine. Most recommend 3600 rpm "no load". But some go as high as 3800 and as low as 3000. I keep everything as close to 3600 as I can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:33 AM
FYS777's Avatar
FYS777 FYS777 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central, OR.
Posts: 2,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Rose View Post
Always. Any mower I've bought, new and used, gets checked with a tach to be sure it's running at the proper rpm's. Too low = poor cut and it's harder on the drive system. Too low rpm's also is bad for the engine, if it dosn't turn fast enough, the fan isn't moving enough air to keep it properly cooled. Too fast is bad too, but the actual high rpm setpoint is debated, and varies depending on the machine. Most recommend 3600 rpm "no load". But some go as high as 3800 and as low as 3000. I keep everything as close to 3600 as I can.
I agree, higher end is much better for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2009, 02:05 AM
lawnman7 lawnman7 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 13
how do u tweek them?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2009, 07:06 AM
LawnScapers of Dayton LawnScapers of Dayton is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,571
on the Kawi's there is a plate on the front of the engine that slides up and down......there are 2 screws that hold it in place. Loosen them and slide it up.......but make sure the throttle is set at full on before you do anything.
__________________
LawnScapers of Dayton
(formerly know as DRM Ventures, Ltd.)

'My friends, we live in the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope you'll join with me as we try to change it.' - Barack Obama
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2009, 09:11 AM
FYS777's Avatar
FYS777 FYS777 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central, OR.
Posts: 2,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawnman7 View Post
how do u tweek them?
ha ha, I should say almost every engine has a way to set the RPM's up or down to get maximum performance out of them, I have found that some times when mowers get older, or even new one's aren't running at high enough RPM's so you adjust them up so the engine runs faster, another wards TWEAKED
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2009, 10:40 AM
Brad Ent Brad Ent is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 230
We moved the plate and still can't get enough rpm our of our 23HP Kawi.
Should we try a shorter spring??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2009, 10:41 AM
Brad Ent Brad Ent is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 230
We moved the plate and still can't get enough rpm on our 23HP Kawi.
Should we try a shorter spring??

Corrected
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-2009, 03:15 PM
LawnScapers of Dayton LawnScapers of Dayton is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,571
someone else will have to comment....never had that issue
__________________
LawnScapers of Dayton
(formerly know as DRM Ventures, Ltd.)

'My friends, we live in the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope you'll join with me as we try to change it.' - Barack Obama
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2009, 03:43 PM
dwost's Avatar
dwost dwost is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Huron, Ohio
Posts: 1,662
Not sure what the problem is. Could be a stuck or stretched cable? Check all the linkages and make sure nothing is binding. I've done this on every mower I've owned. I run mine at 3600 no load.
__________________
2008 Bad Boy Lightning 26hp/60in
- Powerchute w/custom in-grip switch
- Hella fog lights
- Custom striping roller
- Pingel fuel filter
- Custom FIMCO boomless spray rig

1989 John Deer 1070 Compact Tractor - 40hp/4WD
- 70 series loader
- 506 rotary mower
- box scraper
- 84" plow w/full hydo
- ballast box
- aux lights

1993 John Deere Gator 6x4
- HD Field Trax tires
- brush/fender guards
- hydraulic dump bed w/storage and bed cover
- 2" receiver hitch
- HD front suspension
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 AM.

Page generated in 0.09465 seconds with 7 queries