Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 06-16-2009, 06:17 PM
LawnSite Member

Atlectic Feilds Pricing on Fertilization

Hi. I just got a call from a college wanting a price on a fertilizing/weed control program on their Atlectic Feilds. There are:

2 Soccer feilds
2 Softball feilds
2 Baseball feilds
2 Pratice Feilds

I have to go and measure the sq. footage. I am new at pricing something like this. I was wondering if any of you done something like this, and I am open to any Suggestions on what some of you guys might charge for something like this?
Old 06-17-2009, 07:59 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Athletic fields are what I do. You're right, you need to get the square footages per field for your own assurance as well as for ordering materials and recordkeeping. I can tell you soccer is going to be right at or just under 2 A, baseball 2.1 - 2.4, softball at about 0.8, and the practice fields it depends on what kind. My figures above vary according to apron size on each field, distance between goals, or distance to foul poles, but they will get you close.

Most of the applications I do are on a tractor using either a rotary spreader or 50 gallon sprayer with 14' boom. I can shut one side off to do a half width if I need to. There is not much hose and gun work but you need to become very good at working around fences. When a field does need to be trimmed out by hand (spraying) it can easily run over 1,000 linear feet. In those cases, it is much easier if I have someone move the tractor and for me to stay on the ground. Other than that, I work alone. My hose is only 130í Ė remember I almost never use it Ė so that is the length of the leash I am effectively on. When I started I only had 50í and my legs would ache from getting on and off the tractor so often when I had to trim one out.