Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 07-10-2009, 05:38 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

What type Plotter / Printer do you use?

We are looking into getting a printer that will allow us to print oversized prints for our designs and project plans. Something between 17" and 24" wide. At first glance their appears to be a huge price difference, from what appears to be your casual home body Hp designjet printer starting at $400 on up to some hight tech 20 and 30 thousand dollar printers.

Since I have no knowledge or experience with these type machines, I was wondering what, if any, are others using. And if anyone can summize the printers for dummies , and bring me up to speed at what I should be looking at.

Again, our use for this will be light. Probably in the neighborhood of 5-10 print jobs per month. Color is not as important as cost.

Thanks.
Old 07-11-2009, 09:55 PM
LawnSite Member

Hey PerfiCut L&L,

I use a HP DesignJet T610. It's a 24" wide color jet printer. Works outstanding. Have had no issues for a year and a half now. My degree is in landscape design from Penn State and back then we did everything by hand. I finally got tired of doing it that way and computer aided designs are a crap load faster to do and revise. I also have Dynascape design and color, coupled with my HP, my client's are always blown away. Sells the job everytime (2 out of 3 closing ratio). I think it was around $2700. I actually leased it, 100% deductible and after 3 years I get a new one. I chose this way because we all now how technology changes and there is no value to owning an outdated piece of technology. I did not shop around because I am a die-hard HP guy. You would not go wrong with the same unit (or whatever is the equivalent now).
Old 07-16-2009, 06:01 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Everything we have here is HP and thus far we've been pleased with the quality and reliability of all our products, so I will look into the model you mentioned.