Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-16-2002, 10:48 PM
LawnSite Member

help needed for a rookie one man show

Guys, my little 22" pushmower (Briggs & Straton) broke down on me in the middle of a job today, I have no clue what's wrong just locked up leaving me with only my trimmer to finish the job. I am in my first year in business and this is something I really don't need. What is a good solid pushmower that's not going to take a lot of bucks but is sturdy and dependable? I'm not wanting to go cheap, I just want to stay small this first year and gradually grow into a business, I only need a small pushmower, but I do need a good one. Thanks for any help guys and God bless.
Old 04-16-2002, 10:51 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I have had good results w/my Toro personal pace....

Hope this helps... Good Luck.....
Old 04-16-2002, 10:54 PM
LawnSite Member

Haynes
I may catch heck for telling you this, but sears saved my life early in my carreer.
Craftsman is not commercial equip. but I know from experience it WILL hold up well if you take care of it.
Get a self-propelled for around $300.00, a weedeater when you need one $150.00 +-
And any other hand tools you need get from them also, I broke 3 rake handles in 5 years and always got free replacements.
When you get bigger get better equip
Dennis
Old 04-16-2002, 10:55 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks Nelson, I'll check into it. Anybody else?
Old 04-16-2002, 10:56 PM
LawnSite Member

Sorry about that Dennis, I was reading your post and another email at the same time, LOL! Sorry
Old 04-16-2002, 11:44 PM
LawnSite Member

go get yourself a honda from the Depot, they are great mowers and will l;ast forever if you maintain it, you honda and you will not be disappointed
AK Lawn
Old 04-23-2002, 06:26 PM
LawnSite Member