Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 08-03-2009, 08:20 PM
LawnSite Member

How To Stripe Your Yard

i found this and like to try and share it!!!

How Do You Stripe Your Yard?

Look at the Beautiful Stripes!

That is a question I have gotten for years. I have been mowing lawns for about 21 years now and have owned and used many different types of mowers during that time. Yes, my favorite is the standard zero turn rider mower. I personally like the Exmark brand, but other brands have succeeded in matching quality and efficiency over the years.

So, how do you ‘stripe’ a yard. Well let’s begin by explaining what a ‘stripe’ is. A stripe is where you make your lawn have a light and a dark pattern, every other row of the mower. Most people really know this by watching baseball fields, and golf courses. Baseball fields usually have the most dramatic stripes. Football will typically stripe every five yard blocks, making it not quite as noticeable. Most homeowners, once they know the technique, can stripe their own yards with their own equipment. However, a few factor come into play that we are going to discuss. Things such as type of grass, type of mower, type of blades, angle of the sun can affect how a stripe looks.

Let’s begin with the type of grass. I will qualify this with I live in Nashville, TN and have all my life, so I know this area extremely well. We can grow Fescue, Rye, Bermuda, and Zoysia really well here. The different types of grass make a huge impact on the type of stripe you can get in your yard. In my opinion, Fescue makes the best stripe for me. Rye is not a good permanent grass so I will leave it alone. Bermuda and Zoysia have to be mowed every couple to days to get and keep a good stripe. Just like the ball fields on TV. I don’t know anything about St. Augustine grass, so please someone give me feedback on that wonderful southern grass.