Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #81  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:18 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterit View Post
::::I think Kiril and Boots should face off in a steel-cage death match, refereed by ML::::
Nah, I have no interest in beating up an old man.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:21 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
But the starting surge of a connected motor would never give you permission to remove the existing branch circuit breaker and replace it with a higher-rated one.
Actually Boots, Article 430, Section 5 allows this.

Why do you keep arguing this without reading the stuff I post? This links posted reference the code directly, they aren't some yahoos interpretation of what is "right".
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:37 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiril View Post
Actually Boots, Article 430, Section 5 allows this.

Why do you keep arguing this without reading the stuff I post? This links posted reference the code directly, they aren't some yahoos interpretation of what is "right".
It does not, you effin maroon. If you believe it does, go on a site used by licensed electricians, and get their agreement, and return here and post the link. Absent that, you speak with forked tongue.

P.S. I read the Mike Holt page, and that's about a motor load, and says nothing about a branch circuit's fixed-wiring requirements. The motor is a load connected to a branch circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:39 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
It does not, you effin maroon. If you believe it does, go on a site used by licensed electricians, and get their agreement, and return here and post the link. Absent that, you speak with forked tongue.
http://books.google.com/books?id=im1...ots=78zf52vEd4

What does Section 5 say Boots?
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:46 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiril View Post
Why do you keep pretending there are no requirements for branch circuit wiring? Those stand alone. They do not go away.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:49 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Why do you keep pretending there are no requirements for branch circuit wiring? Those stand alone. They do not go away.
What does it say Boots?
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:54 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,648
It says Kiril is a load.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:32 PM
fall46 fall46 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dripit good View Post
Very true.

However, once he is notified it is beyond our responsibility or authority.

Default the issue to the electrician.
I mispoke its a 20amp breaker with a 110 volt line in which the pump is plugged into. Could using a timer like this work

http://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-WH2.../dp/B00002N5FP

All it would be doing is simply turning on and off the pump which would controling 1 zone with 3-4 sprinkler heads attached to it.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-24-2009, 09:27 AM
Waterit's Avatar
Waterit Waterit is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 2,756
It'll work - but it's pretty cheesy. K-Rain makes a 110V version that is more suited to irrigation, the 1110 or 2110. They even have a model that can have a rain sensor attached to it.
__________________
BK
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 09-24-2009, 09:36 AM
fall46 fall46 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterit View Post
It'll work - but it's pretty cheesy. K-Rain makes a 110V version that is more suited to irrigation, the 1110 or 2110. They even have a model that can have a rain sensor attached to it.

Agreed its cheesy! Tell me what does the K-Rain get me the timer I linked doesnt? (I'm not trying to challenge more curious)

Do you have a link?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 PM.

Page generated in 0.09310 seconds with 7 queries