Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:44 PM
mowaman mowaman is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch
Posts: 4
Walker speed

Is it possible to increase the max speed of a walker and how. we currently use an old scag catcher model, but they no longer manafature one so have to change to a walker but they are so much slower in ground speed, help appreciated. Cheers Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:52 PM
fixer67's Avatar
fixer67 fixer67 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tryon NC
Posts: 2,161
No>you do not want to do that. You will over speed the pumps and burn them out. Walker even printed a notice about over speeding the pumps. Walker did make a speed up kit only to learn the pumps were being damaged.
Walker service technician
__________________
"DEFECTIVE OWNER/OPERATOR NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:02 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,690
Hey fixer..... Do you get some kind of instant notification when someone uses "Walker" in a thread title ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:09 PM
fixer67's Avatar
fixer67 fixer67 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tryon NC
Posts: 2,161
Restrorob
I did not even notice the time stamp until I read your post. That is funny.
__________________
"DEFECTIVE OWNER/OPERATOR NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:14 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by fixer67 View Post
That is funny.


Especially since you rarely drop in.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:22 PM
mowaman mowaman is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch
Posts: 4
so whats the soloution ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:37 PM
fixer67's Avatar
fixer67 fixer67 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tryon NC
Posts: 2,161
First off what model and year are we talking about here. There is a upgrade kit that runs the pumps at there limit that is on all new machines. You have to remove the engine to mount the new pulley on the engine. It will be Monday before I can get the kit number for you. If you already have the upgrade on your machine then that is it unless you have pumps problems or the forward controls stop is out of adjustment.
__________________
"DEFECTIVE OWNER/OPERATOR NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2009, 05:44 PM
tomo tomo is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 660
hi ,
If u have a MT or MD this advice applies to u

AFTER u have fitted the factory speed up kit
[make sure u have the upgraded kit not the ealier version ]
[later kit gives better belt wrap = less slip ]

MOST IMPORTANT IS TO

FIT HEAVY DUTY SPRING GASERS
[jack shaft to engine pulley v belt]
{u can order from walker ,it was included in ealier speed up kits ]

ALSO Fit all upgraded tension arms
Fit upgraded tension arm pivot bearings DU Type

Once all installed all ,u will need is a Tacho

TYPE
photo tacho non contact [infared beam reflects on the reflective tape ]

WHY
Adjust your engine to absoute max of specification 4 your engine
[adjust once engine has reached operating temp ]

Once u have done this as above
CHECK pulley speed that is bolted to hydro

Absolute max 3600rpm Input shaft/pulley speed

The 3600 rpm spec is from the -- ""Eaton Model 7 transmission manual ""--

Eg Md walker all new pulleys belts etc 3540 rpm at hydro with engine adjusted to max specification

tomo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2009, 07:31 PM
mowaman mowaman is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Christchurch
Posts: 4
Thanks for that.
Cheers Chris
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-15-2009, 10:38 PM
Jason Rose's Avatar
Jason Rose Jason Rose is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hutchinson, Kansas
Posts: 5,778
Yes, Walker offers a speed-up kit. They have for years. It ups the speed from about 5 mph to 6 to 6.5 top speed. It dosn't sound like much, but it is.

On my '08 MT machine I actually only needed to replace the pulley with the smaller diameter one, this is NOT the pulley on the engine. It's a 5 minute swap. The spring that was included was not needed as the tension on the belt with the old spring was sufficient. I actually couldn't even stretch the new shorter spring to fit, which is why I didn't use it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Page generated in 0.09616 seconds with 7 queries