Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-21-2009, 07:48 PM
LawnSite Member

Kill My Lawn

I am not a pro in the lawn care business but DO want to have my lawn looking good. I have alot of crabgrass looking stuff in my yard and think it is best to kill the grass off and maybe re-seed with a slice seeder. Can anybody give comments to this? It is dark now so I will take a couple pics tomorrow to get better opinions.
Old 09-22-2009, 03:30 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Crabgrass can be controlled with herbicides, proper soil conditions and healthy turf. Might take a year or two but cheaper and easier than a new lawn. Bermuda now, that's another deal.

If you've never done pre-emergent, you probably should read up on that. Do a soil test, over seed, spray something to control crabgrass like Drive 75 and all the other things to control crabgrass.

I really don't have a problem with crab- my yard was infested and the above procedures have completely eliminated it except for 2-3 spots per year. These are controlled with Roundup wiped onto the leaves. Then I stand barefoot in my beautiful fescue lawn watching it wither and die whilst drinking cold beer.
"Now the guy's gotta come up with Paulie's money every week no matter what...'Business bad?- screw you, pay me.' 'Oh, you had a fire?- Screw you, Pay me.' 'Place got hit by lightning huh?, SCREW YOU, PAY ME'

- Ray Liotta as Henry Hill in Goodfellas
Old 09-22-2009, 07:58 PM
LawnSite Member

I have a lot of Crab grass also. I'm thinking about killing it all and just starting over this fall .
Old 09-22-2009, 08:18 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I would get a soil analysis done.
Old 09-22-2009, 08:23 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Post up a picture of the lawn for us to assess the damage. It may be in your favor to just start over but i am willing to bet with some post emergence and pre emergent with spot treatments would suffice.