Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-28-2009, 09:04 PM
LawnSite Member

Need Help! Tree Identification

I have a tree in my front yard that was installed two years ago when I built my house. Unfortunately I was not left with any information on what was planted in my yard including the tree, and have no idea what it is. I have had some people who claim to know a lot about trees, and nobody has been able to tell me what this thing is.

My main reason for wanting to know is that I have been babying this tree for the last two years, and it constantly looks awful. I'm hoping that after finding out what it is, and with some research, (and help from everyone on this board :-) ) I can get this thing healthy.

Below are links to some pictures of the tree.

Thanks for any and all help!

Old 09-29-2009, 04:23 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Although you're a little too far west, chances are that you have a "Blackgum". The leave growth near the twig isn't growing properly for a "Willow Oak" but the leaves and branch pattern sure look like them. Could you include a photograph of the bark and just a closer up of a small clump of the leaves showing where the leaves attach themselves to the twigs?
Old 09-29-2009, 07:14 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

The leaf looks a bit like a "live oak" but the bark is too young for me to tell yet.
Old 09-29-2009, 07:56 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamadrummer View Post
The leaf looks a bit like a "live oak" but the bark is too young for me to tell yet.
Yes, that is why we need a close up of the bark. "Live Oaks" are very close to the "Willow Oak" or Water Oak as they're called in SC--Same Tree. Those long branches from the center trunk are marks of the "Willow Oak" where as the "Live Oak" seem to have a spreading habit from the ground up. I have one on my property that is 60'+ across the canopy. Good observation.
Old 09-29-2009, 07:48 PM
LawnSite Member

Additional Pictues