Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-06-2009, 02:55 PM
LawnSite Member

Website Hosting and Design

Would like to hear where you guys host your sites and what you used to design them. Im not a web designer, but have figured out how to create one by editing a template. I found that its cheaper to buy the domain through google apps and that gives you the email and everything. Since Google Sites is limited, I host mine on office live small business since you can edit more.

What did everyone use to create and where is the best place to host? If you paid for the design software or to host, please list the cost.
Old 10-10-2009, 10:53 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I use Notepad++ which is a free source code editor.
And Filezilla for the FTP.
Old 10-11-2009, 05:52 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

As far as buying domains I have used about 5 or 6 different sources but the one I would rate the best is GoDaddy. They are about 10 bucks a year and most everyone I talk to rates them number one as the best place to buy domains. They also include E-Mail with the domain registration. The one I have used and like the least is Network Solutions.

As far as hosting I do have a couple of sites hosted with GoDaddy and have never had a bit of problem and their support has been great. I do hear a lot of the guys who work with hosting companies a lot say they don't like GoDaddy for hosting but all use them for domains. I use a number of different hosting companies but no one I would consider outstanding. Perhaps PowWeb might be my second choice of those I use. Mostly now I use MonteCarlo which is a small hosting company. I also use HostRocket and they are ok, SpunkyWorld who I don't like, and a few more.