Register free!

Old 05-12-2002, 11:18 PM
LawnSite Member

"Seasons" organic fertilizer VS Milorganite

I'm hoping to offer my customers an organic option next year. I want to experiment this year on my own lawn and see which of these 2 products give the best results. I have heard alot of good things about milorganite but very little about Season's 6-2-4 product. Both of these products are available locally and was curious if anyone has had negative experiences with either product or if one product is favored over the other.
Old 05-13-2002, 01:21 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I've used straight milorganite and don't like it. Straight milorganite is only 6 - 2 - 0 if I remember correctly. It's not a balanced fert. I see a lot of Kentucky Bluegrass and potassium needs are almost has high as N. I now use a "bridged" organic 15 - 1- 10 w/50% milorganite. Far superior results. Also have used Roots 8 - 2 - 6. Both outperform straight milorganite. I have no experience with Seasons's fert, but the grade looks superior (if milorganite is still only 6 - 2 - 0). Good luck.

jim
Old 05-13-2002, 01:27 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

turfinator,

just another thought. Organics are highly dependant upon soil temp/microbe activity. I like adding any organic material to the soil. Helps build better soil structure and orgnaics are suppose to help prevent diseases, but a straight organic maybe a problem up their in Canada? You might consider a product that contains both organic - slow release and a synthetic organic (urea) fast release that works in a wider soil temp range. Just my humble opion. Take it for what its worth. Good luck.

jim
Old 05-13-2002, 06:24 PM
LawnSite Member