Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 05-14-2002, 06:39 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

170 psi !!!!!!

Measured a customers sprinkler system the other day. I've been telling him for several years he needs a pressure regulator. He was telling me that his pressure now seems even higher. So, I measure it.......170 psi !!!!!! I've never seen city water pressure that high. I even checked 2 neighbors.........same pressure.

Anyone ever seen city water pressure this high?

He called city utilities.........I have yet to hear what they told him
Old 05-14-2002, 11:27 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

From a city supply line, the most I've ever dealt with was 110 psi.

Yes, I would defintly(sp) have a regulator installed as that's not optimum water pressure. Get a good liscensed irrigation contractorfrom your area .

Now this may be a dumb question, but the house water supply, is there a pressure regulator their????

John
Old 05-15-2002, 07:55 AM
LawnSite Member

I used to be a plumber. Saw pressure that high one time. It would cause weird things to happen though, like the ball **** valves in toilets to be pushed under water from the pressure, water heater pressure relief valves to go off on other spooky stuff like that.
Old 05-15-2002, 05:43 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

yes, there is a pressure regulator that regulates the water pressure for the house. His sprinkler system was tapped in before the regulator, thus the high pressure. City code in our area requires that a pressure regulator be installed before the water meter. Customer is going to contact city water, because I believe they might fix his situation for him at no cost. Will post back when I find out more.
Old 05-15-2002, 09:36 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member