Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 11-18-2009, 10:57 PM
LawnSite Member

Kawasaki #1 Cyclinder guide problems.

OK Guys, I'm new here so bear with me. I have been fixing small engines for many years and this one takes the cake!! I worked this summer for a lawn care business as a general help for the crew and repair person. He uses two 48 inch cut Ferris walk behinds. When I started one was already down,, It had the exhaust valve guide on the #1 cylinder slipped and bent the push rods so the head had to be replaced. Engine was clean and the fins were not obstructed. Well, within 3 or 4 months the other Ferris did the exact same thing.. I am now waiting on a head for it as well. Like another member I read Kawasaki states it is Operator error and will have no part in it. The guy on the phone questioned my ability and pretty much was rude. If you know the Ferris,, the #1 cylinder has the muffler and the cross section of the exhaust pipe inches away but the #2 is clean and free. Kawasaki is at fault for the design of the muffler or Ferris for the design of the mower, I don't care. Anyone else having this problem?? PS one has around 1500 hours the other has around 2800 hours and valve adjustment was good. I tried to eliminate anything they could tell me. What can be done to help the new heads survive?
Old 11-18-2009, 11:41 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I'm a Kawasaki dealer, and have had this happen at least a dozen times in the last two years. Kawasaki says it's the operator letting the head get to hot. The hours have been from 400 to 1500 when this has happened. Some were packed with grass, some clean. I don't even replace the head antmore. Just air up the cylinder, pop off the spring, pound the seat back in, tack it with 2 quic welds, or stake with a punch, new seal (if required), and install the spring. Have'nt had one come back yet. usually out of warranty when this happens. But Kawasaki has no problems!!!
Old 11-20-2009, 09:24 AM
LawnSite Member