Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-05-2009, 03:14 PM
LawnSite Member

ZTR market size - PLEASE HELP

As a new member to the forum, Iíd like to start by saying Hello. I currently am a student at Lehigh University in Pennsylvania. I am studying in their business program. Before school I worked for a small local commercial mowing outfit that cut about 400 acres a week.

I have a class project that I am doing involving ĎDoing MARKET RESEARCHí The assignment is to pick a product, I chose commercial zero turn mowers, and find out everything I can about the market for them. I started this project thinking Google would have me finished very quickly. Not the case. So next I tried calling the different manufactures, yet they were reluctant to divulge any of their coveted information. Next I tried called the largest commercial mowing companies, but no go. I have made nearly 100 calls, was promised at least 20 call backs, and so far I have nothing. I have now turned to guys for help. Please give me anything you can, even if it is an estimate or a best guess (also please state how confident you are in your information). Little tid-bits can also be helpful as I may be able to piece them together to create myself a picture of the market.

What I am looking for is a general overview of the market specifically for zero turn movers. I want to get an idea of the number of units and/or dollars sold per year. I would also like to know how the market has grown or declined over the last few years and has the residential ZTR mowers impacted the commercial market in anyway. Finally I would like any other info that you feel maybe valuable for my project.