Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-05-2010, 01:00 AM
LawnSite Member

startup equipment advice

Hey guys,
I am starting a lawn care and (hopefully someday) landscape business this
spring. After years of golf maintenance, I am ready to leave that field and dive into L and L. I have a degree in turf management and am looking for some honest advice as far as startup equipment. My budget, fortunately is fairly high.
I want to spend my $$$ on mowers/trimmers/blowers instead of fancy trucks and trailers. Here is what I have my eye on. Please let me know if this is a
good startup package.

scag 36" 26141 Walk Behind

Kubota 54" diesel 26hp zturn

stihl 600 br backpack blower

stihl fs110 trimmer

trimmer ???

toro push mower

Do you colleagues in the green industry agree with this as a good startup
package? Let me know your opinions or advice. Any recommendations?
I am in North Carolina.

Thanks!!!
Joel
Old 01-05-2010, 01:37 AM
LawnSite Member

What sort of mix of customers are you going to go after? How many of them? Will you be solo or have labor working with you?

I tend to think that with this list below you could cover most of the bases:
48" hydro walk behind
60" rider
1 string trimmer
1 backpack blower