Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 01-10-2010, 01:07 PM
LawnSite Member

Sports Field Construction--Prices psf

I am new to Sports field construction and am looking for some help, please.

I will be bidding on a finished grade job of about 350,000-400,000sf. Top soil will already be spread and rough graded to +- 1/2". I will be grading with a laser guided box scraper, raking, seed, fert, and straw.

Specs are not out yet on seed, fert--so I know that will make a difference on the bid.

But can anyone with some experience give me a range of pricing for:

1) Dirt Work psf
2) Amount of straw needed psf or acre
3) Price on whole job psf
4) Or any other advice

Thanks
Old 01-17-2010, 07:02 AM
LawnSite Member

Anyone out there who could help me out with some numbers? I'm in Wisconsin. I was guessing around 8-10 cents psf for the entire job. I'd like to turn a profit but I don't want to price myself out of the work, either.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Old 01-23-2010, 08:07 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

It's bigger than anything I have done or have equipment to do. That is sod farm or golf course construction kind of size. This could easily top $10 K in seed and starter fertilizer alone. Sorry, I hope you get some help.
Old 02-04-2010, 06:58 AM
LawnSite Member

FOREPLEASE-
Thanks so much for the reply. I have always gotten help on lawnsite before, and I was beginning to think that I was going to get skunked this time.

I have never done anything this large either. I think you might be right on seed costs. It's really going to depend on how they spec the seed. And that has not yet been released. I have done finish grade on (up to) 2.5 acres, before. I think I have a pretty good feeling for bidding that. But I don't think I would just multiply x 4, for this job because I think I would just price myself out of the work.