Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 01-16-2010, 06:05 PM
LawnSite Member

New Hydro walk behinds

How's it going? I am new to the business, this coming season will be my second year. I am going to upgrade my equipment during the offseason and need some advice from experienced people in the business. I started last year with my Papaw's 1971 Lawnboy push mower and some Stihl edgers and trimmers. Now I need to make the move and invest in something much larger. I am looking at hydro walk behind mowers. The new Scag Pro-V hydros are really nice, but a 52" is around the $6800 range. Also, I have seen that the Exmark hydro has come out with a ECS steering technology to compete with Scag's Pro-V. What are you guys using and should I invest in a new one or see if I can find a Hydro, floating deck pre-owned somewhere with a low mileage on it. I know the new ones come with a 3 year limited warranty. I appreciate your advice and good luck to all in the upcoming season.
Old 01-16-2010, 07:02 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I buy everything bigger than handheds used so your going to get a biased opinion but look for a good deal on a used one. Scan craigslist and the classifieds here right now. Prices will go up in the spring. Look for a used exmark, scag, or toro. Just make sure it has a turbo force if it's thr toro.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 01-16-2010, 08:31 PM
LawnSite Member

New (apples to apples) Scag's a better cutting machine. Not having to look back's always a plus
Old 01-16-2010, 09:50 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member

You have been out of it for awhile if the ECS is new to you!! I personally hate the ECS handles, as after using them for over an hour or so, my thumbs get numb, But many guys love the ECS on here, Ive only heard from about 2 other people that have the issue I do. I would like to try to new Hustler WBs, their controls look very comfortable, almost like motorcycle controls.
Old 01-16-2010, 11:50 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member