Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-18-2010, 08:14 PM
LawnSite Member

Home SEO - Backlinks

Hey all,
I've been doing a bunch of research on SEO (search engine optimization) and thought I'd share what I've learned. A little background, I own a landscape construction company called Merlin Construction. Instead of plowing in the winter I am a web developer so I have a little background in this sort of thing.

First let me say that SEO is not the end of internet marketing, there are a whole bunch of companies out their thriving on PPC ads and other things.

For now I will talk about backlinks because it is where i started with SEO and I think it is a great place to start. Backlinks are links from another website to your own. Google loves these, it tells the big G 'hey this site is important somebody likes it and it is relevant.' Backlinks are good but quality backlinks are better. What makes a back link quality though? Well there are a few factors...

#1 PR of the link page
PR stands for page rank and it's kinda how important G thinks your site is. This has become less the case in the past years but it is still important. You can check the PR of pages HERE So with that said a link from a site with a higher PR is a more quality link.

#2 Type of link
There are two types of links, dofollow links and nofollow links. Dofollow links are links that tell G to pass on some of the PR to the linked page. Nofollow links don't allow any link juice to flow. So a more quality link is a dofollow link with a high PR.

#3 Anchor Text of the link