Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 01-26-2010, 10:01 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

College or Company?

I will be attending college most likely out of state in another year, and I am having a very difficult time deciding what I am going to do? I was thinking of trying to run my company while attending college out of state, or should I just sell it and start back up when school is done with? Thanks for all the imputs!
Old 01-26-2010, 10:43 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Go to school.
Old 01-26-2010, 11:49 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I was in your shoes in May 2008

I graduated high school in May 2008 and was in the same predicament. I went away to school and still have my business going at the same time.

Here's what I did. I have a buddy of mine that stayed in town and has his own small business take over half of my yards and had an old coach of mine that teaches and runs his business take the other half. They take care of the yards for me while I'm gone and I take care of them when not in school or when I randomly make a trip back to STL.

You must (in my opinion) take your guys that will be doing the work for you while your gone to each and every yard, introduce them, give the customer a business card, point out any obstacles in the yard, and basically familiarize them with each and every account. DO NOT just call your customers and tell them such and such will be taking care of you while I'm gone, add the personal touch of actually taking them around, be professional about it.

You must make sure you have dependable people, and that is not easy to find. Call each of your customers and explain your situation to them and assuming you have built a good relationship with them they should all be fine with it (at least in my experience). This works especially well with the elderly customers as they love to see you are trying to better yourself by getting a college education.