Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-23-2010, 11:32 PM
LawnSite Member

New guy

Hello all.

Was chasing down a new bid for snow removal, and the client want's me to take care of that next year but also wanted to know if I would be interested in taking care of there lawn care needs as well. I cut my own grass and that is it. I am by no means a pro. and don't claim to be but they are willing to give me the chance. Have all the equipment other than a decent mower (looking at toro zrt around $3,000) I have the capital to purchase this and a small trailer. The guy that took care of it last year charged around $15,000 for the yard care and snow removal combined. Yard care was mow,trim,fert,plug once in spring, spring and fall clean up. They did not haul off grass or any other yard trash. Applied fert twice a year.

I have been thinking of adding to my existing bus. And yard maint. was an option just not my first choice. But this sounds like it might be a great start to filling in some of my down time in the summer. I am a one man show. But I do have the time for this and maybe more.
My Plan is to get it for the same price only on a seasonal contract billing around $1,150 a month
OK question is what would you do?

Last edited by wdcs; 02-23-2010 at 11:34 PM. Reason: forgot to add a plan
Old 02-24-2010, 02:24 PM
LawnSite Member

So you are looking to do the same work as the previous lco for $1200 bucks less a year?

I dont know if it sounds right and many of us on here wont either since you havent given one detail on yard size etc...
Old 02-24-2010, 02:34 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

My biggest question is about the fert…you say you’re not a pro so are you going to be able to spread the fert without having different color grass in areas? As in spreading the fert evenly? Believe it or not it takes practice….next….do you even have an applicators permit so you can even apply chemicals like fert?