Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-02-2010, 03:23 PM
LawnSite Member

Toro or john deere?

I am just getting started in the business this year. SO obviously I am on a budget. I am not really into paying 5,000 dollars plus for commercial equipment. It is out of the question. So I am going to Home Depot and looking at the mowers zero turns. Toro or deere? I can only get the 42'' because I have a 5X10 trailer and that what fits on it the best...anyone ever work with these mowers?
Old 03-02-2010, 04:09 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sasquatchmonk88 View Post
I am not really into paying 5,000 dollars plus for commercial equipment. Home Depot....ever work with these mowers?
Nobody "works" with these mowers cause there are all manufactured to a home owner quality..and they break when worked beyond there home owner design...simple as that. Big difference.

Buying any mower at a The Home Depot is most likely a waste of money..unless it's a lightly used 21" mower. You take a homedepot mower and work it straight for 8 hours a day...I would like to see how long it last. Every piece of machinery I have bought from home depot or lowes and tried to work commercially has been nothing but a let down...You get what you pay for.

The one thing in this business you should not skimp out on is your mowers.

So you wanna spend more like 2k on a mower...Buy a used commercial grade mower...there everywhere. Do a better job quicker and more efficiently.

If you do go the Home Owner route...you better pray for a drought, cause the deck, spindles and motor won't make it very long cuttin the thick and wet...
Old 03-02-2010, 05:17 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

BladeScape pretty much summed it up.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-02-2010, 06:56 PM
LawnSite Member